MayPort Area PeeWee B1 Ice Dawgs

The MayPort Area PeeWee B1 Ice Dawgs won the North Dakota Amateur Hockey Association tournament last weekend in Williston, N.D.

The MayPort Area PeeWee B1 Ice Dawgs brought home a state championship after three consecutive wins over the weekend in Williston, N.D.

MayPort Area outscored its opponents 16-3 in its three games, including a 5-0 shutout in its semifinal game Saturday against Wahpeton, helping earn netminder Jack Mattson a tournament “zero” patch given to goalies who achieve the feat.

The Ice Dawgs entered the tournament as the No. 1 seed and received a play-in game bye before defeating Bismarck White 6-1 Friday, Wahpeton Saturday and Bottineau 5-2 in the championship game Sunday.

Head coach Carl Caron said the key for the Ice Dawgs in the championship game was getting ahead early and not allowing Bottineau’s high-pressure second period to fold the team.

Members of the Ice Dawgs PeeWee championship winning team are: Jack Mattson, Aaden Aarsvold, Brayden Caron, Alex Aarsvold, Wyatt Heskin, Kale Petrowske, Sawyer McGillis, John Mattson, Easton Hanson, Justin Verwest and Corbin Schreiner.