Friday, June 24, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022

My coworkers and I had a discussion recently about which chocolate bars are tops in the candy world. While we agreed that Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups can contend with anyone, our opinions veered wildly from that point on.

Friday, June 10, 2022

We’re officially on a summer schedule in our household, meaning the kiddo and I have nearly opposite schedules. My 12-year-old has always been a night owl; he loves staying up late, hanging around with friends in the evenings, then hitting the computer for several hours before turning in for…

Friday, June 03, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022

The hubby and I used to invite his family over for weekend lunches on a pretty regular basis. We love to entertain and putting together a huge spread for the family has always been one of our favorite things to do.

Friday, May 20, 2022

One thing I’ve learned in the last few months is that it’s an exquisite form of torture to be a food columnist when you can’t eat.

Friday, May 13, 2022
Friday, May 06, 2022

Editor’s note: This column originally ran in the May 11, 2012 issue of the Banner. 

Friday, April 29, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022

I was raised with a tremendous respect for books. I didn’t have many of my own – I was such a voracious reader that we couldn’t justify buying books when I had an entire school library at my disposal – so I was extremely careful with my borrowed books. I used bookmarks, kept my Cheeto dust o…

Friday, April 15, 2022
Friday, April 08, 2022

My grandma had three granddaughters and she’s always done her best to raise us as young ladies. She clearly failed miserably in my case, underestimating my stubbornness and contrary nature, both of which I inherited from her. I can play the part when the need arises, however, mostly because …

Friday, April 01, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022

I spend my day job working in a county office, and we recently got a delightful new neighbor in another office down the hall. There are three of us amongst the two offices, and we all like to cook, taste and talk about food. My boss suggested we bring in samples, and thus began random Monday…

Friday, March 18, 2022

Editor’s note: This column originally ran in the March 16, 2012 issue of the Banner. 

Friday, March 11, 2022

I’ve had multiple surgeries within the past year and if there’s one good thing that’s come of all of them, it’s that I’ve had so much poking and prodding and tests and lab work done that my doctors discovered a few issues that otherwise may have gone overlooked until they became bigger problems.

Friday, March 04, 2022
Friday, February 25, 2022
Friday, February 18, 2022

The hubby and I have been coming and going a lot lately and our schedules seem to change at the drop of a hat. Because of meetings, sporting events and other activities, I’m never quite sure who will be around for meals and when.

Friday, February 11, 2022

Last year our family finally ditched our satellite TV service; since then, I have had absolutely no idea what’s going on in the world of professional sports. It’s not that we don’t have access to the sports channels. In streaming, all things are possible. We actually receive more sports chan…

Friday, February 04, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022

I love to talk about food with my friends, and therefore I seem to surround myself with friends who love to talk about food.

Friday, January 21, 2022

My kiddo, Jack, is into gaming, but his base of operations has been relocated around the house multiple times due to logistical issues – like strength of the wifi signal, his desk collapsing under the weight of his equipment and how loudly he yells into his headset.

Friday, January 14, 2022
Friday, January 07, 2022

In my last column just before Christmas, I was mentioning the need to be flexible over the holidays because we never know what the weather might throw at us, changing our plans on a dime.

Friday, December 31, 2021

Editor’s note: This column originally ran in the Dec. 28, 2012 issue of the Banner. 

Friday, December 24, 2021

I’m going to preface the recipe in this week’s column by blatantly admitting this is not a recipe. There is no cooking involved. There’s little food prep to be done. And it’s merely an idea; a template, really, that you can customize in any way you like.

Friday, December 17, 2021

I recently hit a major milestone in my life that I never thought would be a major milestone: I am wearing shoes on both feet.

Friday, December 10, 2021

My sixth-grader has a writing assignment to complete every night, and while I usually give the kid his privacy, one entry recently caught my eye. The topic must have been what your family does to prepare for Christmas, and my kiddo’s response was basically that we were too busy to do anythin…

Friday, December 03, 2021

One of my favorite cozy jammie shirts says “She dreams in color,” which not only is one of my favorite song lyrics, but also is very appropriate because I’m a vivid dreamer.