Incumbents re-elected to Hillsboro, Central Valley school boards Tuesday

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, June 14, 2019 6:16 am

Voters in the Hillsboro and Central Valley school districts on Tuesday re-elected a number of incumbents to office.

In the Hillsboro School District, incumbent School Board Chair Tim Kozojed ran unopposed and kept his three-year seat from Area 1, which includes Norway, Blanchard, Bloomfield and Bohnsack townships.

Kozojed received 28 of 29 votes cast in Tuesday’s election, according to unofficial results released by the district Wednesday.

Gary Nysveen, a member of the Hillsboro Economic Development Corp., received one write-in vote.

Voters also were asked whether the district should continue to publish school board minutes in the local newspaper. The ballot question passed 27 to 2.

Farther north, incumbents Greg Troftgruben, Ron Sondrol and David Knudsvig ran unopposed and were re-elected to three-year terms on the Central Valley School Board.

All three candidates received 13 votes in Tuesday’s election to retain their seats.

Troftgruben represents the City of Buxton while Sondrol serves Bingham and Belmont townships.

Knudsvig represents Area 3, which includes Buxton Township and portions of Union and Morgan townships.

A ballot question asking whether voters wanted to continue publishing minutes in the district’s official school newspaper passed 10 to 3.

Most Popular