Monday filing deadline approaches for local county, city, school elections

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, April 3, 2020 10:19 am

Candidates interested in filing for office in county, city and school board races in the June 9 election had better hurry. The filing deadline for local elections closes at 4 p.m. Monday.

Through Thursday, two candidates had filed for seats on the Hillsboro City Commission.

Incumbent Mike Kress and newcomer Shawn Skager, a sergeant with the Traill County Sheriff’s Office, have tossed their hats in the ring seeking four-year seats leading the city.

City Commissioner Lorraine Tibert previously announced she won’t run in the election.

Hillsboro City Auditor Matt Mutzenberger,  said Monday that incumbent Cody Harstad filed paperwork seeking a four-year seat on the Hillsboro Park Board.

Marty Iverson, another incumbent, has indicated that he intends to seek re-election on the park board prior  to Monday’s deadline, Mutzenberger said.

The Hillsboro School Board has two seats up for grabs in June.

Incumbent Paul Kozojed will seek a three-year term on the board representing the City of Hillsboro.

Current School Board member Rich Diehl announced he’ll step down from serving Area 2, which represents the townships of Ervin, Eldorado and Caledonia and the north half of Hillsboro.

Newcomers Travis Allen and Brooke Duval have filed to replace Diehl, according to Vicky Grothmann, the school district’s business manager.

Farther north, Carrie Knutson submitted paperwork to run for the Central Valley School Board representing Reynolds.

Knutson is running for a one-year term to replace former School Board member Larissa Campbell, who moved to Fergus Falls, Minn., with two years remaining on her term.

Incumbents Dave Seyfried and Gregg Saure Jr. had not filed for re-election through noon Thursday, although both men indicated in February that they plan to run in June.

Seyfried’s three-year seat represents Ervin and Wold townships in Traill County while Saure serves Bentru Townships and parts of Michigan and Americus townships in Grand Forks County.

Buxton City Council members Jeff Siewert and Katon Flanagan and Mayor Gene Rosholt are expected to run in the June election.

However, City Auditor Jackie Siewert said that her office had not received paperwork for any of the three incumbents through late Monday.

In other local races, Blanchard-area farmer and incumbent Kurt Elliott filed for re-election serving District 2 on the Traill County Commission.

He’ll be joined on the primary ballot by incumbent Larry Young of Mayville, the sole candidate running so far from District 4.

Both candidates are seeking four-year terms on the county board.

More about

More about

More about

Most Popular